4 Stages of Wound Healing 2018-09-04T12:01:22+00:00

The Four Stages of Wound Healing

Use of ozone for wound healing is a two-phase process:

Phase 1:

  • Kill the bacteria and viruses in the wound
  • Use ozone gas of 60 to 80 gamma, full ozonated water or strong ozonated oils
  • Administer three times per day for the first two days

Phase 2:

  • Promote healing through increased oxygenation
  • Use zone gas of 20 gamma or milder ozone oil
  • Administer three times per day for two weeks

See Bocci on Ozonated Oils study.

Wounds heal in 4 stages:

1) Hemostasis

  • Damaged blood vessels constrict, platelet plugs form, and blood coagulates.
  • Platelets and damaged cells initiate reactions, ultimately resulting in fibrin threads and clot formation.

2) Inflammation Phase

  • Swelling and warmth often associated with pain.
  • The inflammatory response causes the blood vessels to become leaky releasing plasma and neutrophils into the surrounding tissue. This cleans up debris and fights infection.
  • The area exhibits redness and swelling accompanied by heat and pain.
  • Macrophages are able to phagocytize bacteria and provide a second line of defense. They also direct the next phase of healing.

3) Proliferative Phase

  • The granulation stage starts four days after wounding and can last up to three weeks in acute wounds.
  • Fibroblasts secrete the collagen framework upon which further dermal regeneration occurs.
  • Pericytes regenerate the outer layers of capillaries and the endothelial cells which produce the lining.
  • Specialized fibroblasts are responsible for wound contraction. Keratinocytes are responsible for epithelialization.

4) Remodeling or Maturation Phase

  • The healing process involves remodeling the dermal tissues to produce greater tensile strength by the fibroblasts.
  • Remodeling can take up to two years after wounding.